Hosanna

Heal my heart and make it clean
Open up my eyes to the things unseen
Show me how to love like you have loved me

As a christian, I am encouraged by all the wonder, all the majesty of Christ (at least what I can comprehend). Oh, the wonderful gifts he gives to us as His sons and daughters. The inheritance of kings and queens! The salvation He has given to us. The eternal life that is ours. The bible is riddled with all kinds of promises that show us that we are loved. Promises that offer a hope  that this world can never give.  Doesn’t that sound wonderful? But let’s be honest here for a bit… when the going gets tough, does the tough ever over shadow all of this?

If you are anything like me, when times are hard and when I am truly tested, it seems to me that the translation of God’s greatness gets a little lost. The promises don’t seem very real.  In fact I go to read them and I just don’t seem to believe them. It’s like the feeling of faith and assurance ran off somewhere. Have you ever felt like this? Like you know that God is the only one who can save you, but He appears to be so so far away. I know I am not the only one who can get this way.

What are we to do? What can we do?

I believe that life can get so monumentally in the way of our relationship with Christ. This I know is true. You see it in how much time we spend on the internet, iphone, tv, friends, games, school, family. Literally everything is in the way. When was the last time your heard God’s voice direct you in your life? The bible tells us that as re-made children of God, we are no longer proper functioning citizens of this world, but boy do we like to still think we are. Distraction seeps into life like a little invisible-to-the-naked-eye virus. You can’t see it coming but when it has rooted itself into your life you can bet that you will see the effects: feelings of separation from God and discouragement, etc. What are we to do?

 As hard is it may be, and whatever comes our way, we keep our eyes fixed on Him.

Remember your first love with Jesus. The reason you were saved, the price that was paid. Some of us, get to point where we don’t believe any more simply because we let our heart get too dirty. Distraction had it’s filthy way and covered us in gunk. But, Jesus is faithful and just. He is Hosanna, the God who saves. He will never leave you of forsake you. If you would only ask with a humbled heart, your eyes/heart can be cleaned and opened. You will see God. And when you see Him, He will show you how He loved you during this whole time of trial. And I can guarantee, you will be inspired to love others, the way you have been loved. Be aware of this my friends, because Satan is prowling around and wanting to make you miserable, but have faith. God can shield us and strengthen us… we need only to ask and depend on Him.

Be Blessed my friends.

Leave a Reply

